Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Cage Feedback on my new cage?

Roses

Cavy Slave
Hi everyone... I am brand new here. We are going to foster a guinea pig or two for a local rescue starting in July, and I've been building a C&C cage based on the research I've done. I've attached some pictures for you to see. I would appreciate any feedback or ideas from you all as I am a guinea pig newbie!

It is a closed 2x4 C&C cage connected with zip ties. For bedding I am using 2 layers of UHaul's furniture pad and topped with a layer of fleece. I have a small cat litter pan that I plan to put a layer of newspaper in and then top it with fresh hay each day. It is right near the water bottle. I have two ceramic food bowls... one for pellets and one for fresh veggies and fruits. I have a crinkle tunnel, a cuddle cup, a pigloo, and a wooden bird toy hanging from the top. I will get another hidey hole should we end up fostering 2 guinea pigs. I am also still looking for a hay rack to put over the litter pan. So far, I have struck out. I am also thinking I want to elevate the cage and not have it on the floor.

I've attached pictures of the top closed and open, all the toys and accessories, and a close-up of the furniture pad under the fleece.

What do you think so far? Any feedback for improvement or changes?

One specific question I have is do you think the guinea pig(s) will be able to get into the litter pan or will the sides be too tall?

Thank you so much! :)

sarah_atx

Cavy Slave
It looks really nice! You might consider covering one corner with a towel for more hiding options? Just over the top of the cage cover even I think would be okay.