PDA

View Full Version : habitat for rabbitat



__ben
04-30-05, 02:06 pm
okay so I dont own any rabbits but I had this weird idea so lets say you build a box 5 by 7 ft (out of wood) with a floor (no top) its 2.5 ft high and you fill it with dirt and then put a 5 foot high chain link fence around it (with top)would a domestic rabbit burrow and live there?(if you provide food and stuff)I think this might work though I'm not sure...

Slap Maxwell
04-30-05, 02:42 pm
I don't think that would be suitable. Look at some of the rabbit cages in the photo gallery.

__ben
04-30-05, 02:57 pm
I've seen them but still that seems like a good habitat for a rabbit...

Rachy1412
04-30-05, 03:00 pm
Why go to all that trouble when you can just keep them indoors or in a hutch? What would happen when it rained? The soil would get soaking wet and the rabbit would have no where to go!

__ben
04-30-05, 03:02 pm
I just thought this mirrored their natural habitat, and its also just an idea I don't have any rabbits!

Rachy1412
04-30-05, 03:09 pm
Well yes it would but their tunnels would be much longer and deeper and safer!

Slap Maxwell
04-30-05, 03:12 pm
Domesticated rabbits and wild rabbits are totally different. It is not like you are keeping a wild animal. This animal wants to be inside with a friend and a big cage and lots of places to snuggle.

__ben
04-30-05, 03:18 pm
ok, I know nothing of rabbits and I just brain stormed this Idea. um sorry

VoodooJoint
04-30-05, 04:43 pm
The dirt wouldn't work unless you were prepared to replace it every week. It would hold the urine and feces and get disgusting. It's better to have a large cage and provide the rabbit with a pan of peat moss to dig in and a telephone book to tear up.

Also if this enclosure was outside there would be no natural runoff for the rain that would soak the dirt. The rabbit would end up living in mud.