Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register
  • ONE THREAD per pig please!
    We really want your pig's history all in one place to help you. Please don't start a new thread for a new issue. Just reply to your old one. We can edit the title for you if needed.

Lump Grease gland issues...maybe...

CaptainClueless

Cavy Slave
Firstly, I'm a total noob. I have owned guinea pigs in the past and we currently have one that was a rescue...sort of. We hadn't planned on getting the little fella. I've perused this forum for about 30 mins and I had no idea that people had giant cages for their piggies and used fleece for bedding. So, you know where I'm coming from.

Anywho, I was holding my piggie and I noticed blood on my pants. I checked his back (down by his hiney) and saw a growth that appears to have bled some. He doesn't act like it is sore at all. I would estimate the size to be around that of a marble.

After googling around for a while I discovered that he has a grease glad back there. I have never noticed it before, but I have never gone looking for it either. I had noticed that it felt...not dry on this piggie and my piggies in the past, but I assumed it was dirt or something. If it hadn't been for the blood, I wouldn't have ever looked.

Soooooo...any thoughts about what to do? I plan to wash him up and get a better look at what is going on. I was going to put neosporin on it and try to get in with a vet.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Deb's4Pigs

Cavy Slave
I wouldn't put neosporin on it because he'll just lick it off. Do you know how old he is?

CaptainClueless

Cavy Slave
I sure don't. At least a couple years old.

Deb's4Pigs

Cavy Slave
He could also be impacted. Do a search of impaction and it should tell you how to do it.

cam767

Cavy Slave