PDA

View Full Version : Hansen family gets our first guinea pigs..

gidgethansen
09-09-10, 07:18 am
Yesterday was my daughters birthday and next week is my sons, so I told them they could get a guinea pig.. So we went yesterday and got them both a guinea pig..

My daughters is an all white female (Charlie) and my sons is a brown and tan and white female (Gizmo)..

I think they are in shock due to the size of the cage. I have the extra large C&C cage.. At the pet store they where in the normal cage with 5 others. They havent eatten any veggies I have given them yet but Im not sure they have ever had any before..

Im a little nervous bout thier Vit C in take.. all the things I read say do not give them vitamins in the water. So how do I give them thier Vitamins?

Any way this is a new adventure in our family.. We live on a large ranch in Texas.. I am a horse trainer and run a boarding facility. I love animals and spoil all my guys. I have never had any thing like these little guys but everything I read was great and I love all the stuff I have learned from this site.. Any help and advice is welcome..

Thanks

Hansen family

Deb's4Pigs
09-09-10, 07:31 am
Welcome!! They should be able to get all their vit C from their veggies. Feed them vit C rich foods. Are they babies? What brand of food are you feeding? Check the vegetable thread. You can give them the Oxbow vit C tablets if you're worried.

gidgethansen
09-09-10, 11:47 am
Yes they are only 8 weeks old.. I am feeding the oxbow timothy pellets.. I give them green bell peppers, lettuce, couple baby carrots.. they are slowly starting to eat the veggies.. and i gave them a little alfalfa since they are young..

BFarnsey
09-09-10, 01:59 pm
Welcome to the family and the insanity! We look forward to plenty of pictures of the pigs grow and as they grow to love you!

jessaba
09-09-10, 03:25 pm
Welcome :) Can't wait to see pics of your piggies!

blackarrow
09-09-10, 03:54 pm
Welcome, and good luck with them.