Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Seeking baby guinea pig

heathersmom

Cavy Slave
I'm a first grade teacher in Arlington TX and am ready to try another guinea pig in my classroom. I'd like a baby, anyone know who I might contact? Thanks!

skinnypigs

Cavy Slave
I don't think guinea pigs are good classroom pets. Especially for first graders. They take a lot of care and proper nutrition. Plus they require large cages.

Amy1981

Cavy Slave
After we got our two guineas, I was talking to my daughter's pre-k teacher about bringing them in for a "show and tell" type thing. She said that she used to have a guinea pig for her pre-k class several years ago. Her piggie was quite happy and lived for over 7 years. I think they would be a wonderful class pet for a first grade class. Providing that adequate care and housing is provided. They need fresh vegetables every day. I think they would be a great teaching tool as far as responsibility goes.

skinnypigs

Cavy Slave
I think it would be hard to keep track of how all the kids are treating the guinea pig. Some children don't understand at that young how to properly handle them, I suppose you can try and teach them but I've seen too much cruelty to classroom pets. When I was in Second Grade we had a classroom hamster and it would get tormented everyday, the cage banged on, picked up and dropped and so on. Some children had no feelings towards it. It would get to go home with a different child every so often. One child poked out his eye with a pencil.
Another thought would be the fresh vegetables and the nail trimmings? Is this something you'd have time to do for them at school?
What about when it gets sick, who foots the vet bill?

Sirene

Cavy Slave