Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Marissa's piggies

teamsfm

Cavy Slave
Howdy. I have been doing dog rescue for about 6 years. I have been doing chinchilla rescue for about 1 year. Last week I was asked to take in some guinea pigs. My first reaction was "Sorry I can't". My husband is alergic to everyting except dogs and chins. But then I was told the piggies have very little hair so I thought I would give it a try. I love them. 2 girls about 8 weeks old. They do not have names yet but I am open to suggestions. At first I thought they were sick but their mom lookes the same way. They are like my Boston terrier, so ugly that they are cute!! I scored a barly used C&C cage off craigs list the day after I took them in and they love it. I have been doing tons of research and this forum by far is the most helpfull. They were housed with the dad and 2 brothers. Do I need to be on pregnancy watch. I am new to piggies so I am always open to suggestions. So here are some pictures of my girls. I hope you like them.:lovestruc

rabbitsncavyluv

Cavy Slave
Aw you have skinnies.

Skinnies are not hypo allergenic though - so you could still have allergy issues in the near future.

And most people are allergic to the hay rather than the pigs.

Yes, if they are over 4 weeks and still with males, they could be pregnant.

I can't tell on your cage but it looks like the one grid on top is one of the unsafe ones. I'd make sure you have the grids that are 9 squares - and if they are 8 weeks you need to baby proof regardless.

I'd read Allergies too and hop over to www.guinealynx.info

Skinnies can be prone to many things including skin issues like fungus.

teamsfm

Cavy Slave