Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Veg*n A few question to help out a possibley new vegetarian

Trixie

Cavy Slave
Ok I have decided to research and learn as much as I can about doing this and doing it right. First off I am on a "diet" so I am limited on what I can have and how much.

1) Mayo I am a mayo freak. lol.. I dislike no more like hate mustard so I have read on my light mayo jar that there is less then 2% of egg to make it. IS this ok? I don't eat egg I cant stand eggs. (infact light just went off in my head.. This year easter is with plastic eggs instead of real eggs.)
2) The whole thought of eatting tofu turns my stomach. Even though I have never tried it before. Any idea's to make this easy?
3) I have a family of 5 we are all meat eatters. How would I make this change easier for me but yet make it easy for my family to deal with? My hubby will not in no way go vegetarian. He is a meat eatter and will be no matter what. He can cook so should I make him fix for him and the kids? Because if I do this then I don't want to mess with shopping, fixing etc.
I am sure I will come up with more later but for as late at it is that is it for now.

Slap Maxwell

Cavy Slave
1) Mayo is fine, unless you are going vegan.

2) You don't have to eat tofu. Look in the vegitarian/health food section of your grocery store. (Major stores always have it) They have BBQ Ribs, lassange, pasta with meat sauce, chicken nuggets, and other meaty things made of soy. I eat them and the difference is miniscule.

3) If you want to cook for your family and still include meat just enough for the other four, you can do that. Buy less meat since you are only feeding four, discreatly provide more veggie options (such as pasta).

Also, take a multi-vitamin, preferably one for vegitarians. I don't take one, but they should help.

vegan