Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Adoption

Quiet Things

Cavy Slave
Hi, I'm a bit new to the adoption/fostering thing and was wondering if you could just give me as much information as you all have, experiences, everything! I was also wondering if it's advisable to adopt pregnant mums? (I have some experience with pregnancies and births and am well aware of vet bills resulting in a problem)
I have a lot of questions, really regarding fostering, I was considering going to my local RSPCA, which is a bit of a drive away and seeing what they could tell me about fostering etc. only I thought I might ask some people I know have experience on the other end aka you guys!
So any advice, info, experiences would be really awesome! thanks!

CavyKind

Cavy Slave
Hi,
In my opinion....no reputable rescue would allow anyone to adopt a pregnant female guinea pig....I certainly wouldn't. They may allow an experienced fosterer to do so if they were well known to the rescue organisation. Again, I wouldn't...all "at risk" piggies stay with me.

All rescues have different rehoming criteria so my advice is to simply contact the rescue which you intend to deal with. They will be able to answer any questions which you may have.

Barbara

Thr0wAwayKid

Cavy Slave