PDA

View Full Version : Cage Cage design

staphjermz
03-02-10, 06:28 am
Hi there, I want to build a new cage for my girls when i move into my new house. I have 9 girls now since someone gave me 2 to adopt and was wondering if i made the cage 2 by 11 cube would it not be cramped?? At the moment the width is 3 grids wide but the length is 8 grids and i feel it should be bigger. Do most of you that have a big group, do you normally put the width as 2 grids or 3.

Piggynovice
03-02-10, 08:51 am
I am no expert on large pig groups, but in general wider is better. It increases you square footage quite a bit more. If you go from a 3x8 (35sq ft.) to a 2x11 (32sq ft.) you area actually losing area, so for sure dont do that especially if you are adding more piggers. If you have room for a 3x11 (48sq ft) I would think that should be more then enough space. All in all I would keep it at three wide if you can are maybe make it 4x8 (47sq ft.) that would work well too.

sdpiggylvr
03-02-10, 09:12 am
Are they all females? If they are, your cage should be a 3x11, which would be ideal. If they are all males, you should probably make a 3x12/13 as males tend to be a bit more territorial...the extra space prevents this.

Good luck!

lissie
03-02-10, 12:07 pm
If you calculate based on the minimum size, 2x3 for 2 sows and add 1x2 for each additional sows, 2x11 would meet the requirements. The minimum requirement for 9 sows is 2x10.

If you have enough space, bigger and wider is always better. If you don't have space, 2x11 is enough for them.

leyley904
03-02-10, 12:41 pm
You can keep it at a 3x8, that would be plenty of space! How do you have enough room for such a huge cage?! But, like others said, going to a 2x11 would be getting smaller. And yes, 3 grids wide is much better than 2 grids wide. Even if you have to make it less grids long ways.

leyley904
03-02-10, 12:42 pm