Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

C&C Extending my cage...

Llamasomething

Cavy Slave
I'm getting another pig soon and want to add another 2 grids on so there would be a 2x3 grid running area and then a 1x2 grid "Kitchen" and sleeping area.

Would I need to buy more coroplast and make another entire bottom, or would it work if I just use my leftover coroplast to make a box for the 1x2 and attach them, and cut a doorway since they are going to be two separate areas?

Pig.Piggie

Cavy Slave
I have seen many other cages on site that have a tub of sorts for the "kitchen" area. I don't see why it wouldn't work.

*I am no expert on guineapigs and a new owner myself so please don't take just my advice* =]

lissie

Cavy Slave
You don't need to buy new coroplast. New 1x2 box from existing coro should work fine. Make sure there's no gap between the new box and the old box. You wouldn't want to have pee and poo stuck between the boxes. I learned that the hard way.

Llamasomething

Cavy Slave
Ah. So if I tie the boxes or zap strap the two together tightly it should be fine? Or will I have to seal the gap with silicone?

akstrohm

Cavy Slave
You can overlap the coroplast by a little bit and then secure it with packing tape or duct tape.

Two pigs (especially males) should have a full 2x4 area to run around in. I wouldn't section off anything into a kitchen area unless it's going to be a 2x4 running space plus a 1x2 kitchen.

Llamasomething

Cavy Slave
I don't have room for a full 2x4. It isn't physically possible to fit that length in my room D:

If I made the addition so there wasn't any door to it and it was just added in and attached, would that be fine? They could use the full space by running in an L-shape...

Onetwo

Cavy Slave