Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Ratties Neutering boys

Bamysmum

Cavy Slave
Does anyone know why you might need to neuter boy rats?

Lots of people have been asking me if I'm going to get my boys neutered (including the vet) since they discovered i have 2 boys.

I can't see any reason right now to get my boys nuetered!

I certainly would never remove their dangly bits because others concider them unsightly (apparantly that's a very common reason).

I would hovever if it would help stop violent fighting. I know neutering a guinea's not going to help stop agression but I have no experience on neuterings affect on male rats.

Currently my boys are fast approacing 6 months old and constanly fight. So far the fighting seems to be playful, no one gets hurt, it seems to be a favourite game but I'm mindful that as they mature the fighting might get more violent.

Would love to hear if anyone's had experience with fighting boys and if neutering had any effect?

Anaira

Cavy Slave