PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here with cage question

potatohead
02-24-05, 01:03 pm
my girlfriend bought two piggies last week and we already feel the cage we bought from petco is too small. i'm planning on building a cage sometime this month with two levels: 1st level is an obstacle course with the food area on one side and 2nd level will be the sleeping area. i don't want to build another area for the piggies' playtime, so what is a decent size for them to do everything in the cage, including exercise?

Josiah

pennick
02-24-05, 01:10 pm
However big you can go. The bigger the better. If you have the room for a 3 x 4 or 2x5 go for it. The standard size for 2 piggies is a 2x4. I have a 2x4 with 3 levels. My piggies do not get free roaming. I dont have the floor space. They love their home, each and every level. I only wish I had the space to make a 3x4. I would have liked it a little wider.

Poohbear
02-24-05, 01:25 pm
Yes I agree with pennick. The bigger the better. I have 4 cavies at the momment and they will all liv ein a 4x6. Until now only Honey and Coco are living in it and Princess and Queenie and in their quarintine cages.

potatohead
02-24-05, 01:55 pm
thanks. what will be the maximum angle for them to climb? and for the ladder going up to the 2nd level, what is the best material for that?

Josiah

Poohbear
02-24-05, 02:06 pm
I am not sure what the maximum angle they can climb. Look in the gallery for ideas. You cna either used carpet,astro turf,fleece, towels or any other material.

pennick
02-24-05, 02:43 pm