Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Ratties Help-issues with my boys' C&C cage?

e_blu09

Cavy Slave
Hi all,

I'm a bit of a newbie, as this is my first time posting here. I'm a little low on funds and cannot afford a new Martin's or FN cage at this present time. I go back and forth between vet bills for my pets (I just treated a myco flare up in one of my rats, and a heat-induced skin infection in one of my doggies. Thanks, California weather), and until I can find a second job I cannot spoil my ratty boys as much as I would love to. :weepy:

I've decided on making a homemade cage myself. Long story short, after racking my brain over which materials to use, I have decided on making them a C&C cage (out of the fine mesh grids, not the grids with 9 big squares). I literally looked for those ridiculously hard to find grids for a little over a week and FINALLY found what I was looking for. They are currently on their way, so at this present time I'm trying to piece everything together on paper. That way I'll know exactly how I want to set everything up when the cubes arrive.