Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Question about water bottle

Duffinvt

Cavy Champion, Previous Forum Moderator
Cavy Slave
Please don't think I am dense, but I have never used a water bottle before. I have the the bottles with metal spout that my pigs have used for the past year. I don't see that they are getting water out of it. We bought a second bottle, unfortunately the pet store only had the exact same bottle. Same thing. They go up and seem to chew on the end of the spout but I am not sure they are getting water ! My husband examined the bottle and thought it was air locked. He thinks putting a pin hole in the bottle will help. When I refill the bottle they do seem to be able to drink, but then it seems to become difficult for them to get water. I have a small dish of water in the cage just in case they are not getting water from the bottle. Maybe all is perfectly normal, I am just not sure how these things work.

Laura_Leigh

Cavy Slave
can you post a picture of the water bottle in question? There are several different types and we may be able to work a bit better from that.

trump_cinnamon

Cavy Slave
When you fill the water bottle all the way up, does the water go down in a day? It usually doesn't go down that much, but it should be a noticeable amount, depending on the width of the bottle in question.

The fact that they go up to it and bite it does lead me to believe that they get water from it, as that shows they know water comes from that spout. If they aren't drinking from the bowl, that would also be a sign that the water bottle is fine. What you described your pigs doing with the water bottle sounds like what my pigs do, and they get water, so once again, it is probably fine. Like Laura_Leigh said, if you post a picture or say what brand of water bottle it is, that might help.