Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Introducing Daisy and Buttercup

Coryn

Cavy Slave
Hello, my name i Coryn and im new to the site with two new piggies!

I had my first two Guinea pigs when I was 7 years old and they lived till the ripe old age of 9!
I have Daisy (crested, tan and black stripe) who was born in March and Buttercup (Teddy, white, tan and brown) who was born in May.

I rescued them from the Rspca (England) where I work as a volunteer. They were taken away from a breeder who ended up with far to many to cope with, lots of different piggies living in a small enviroment all mating with each other. About 30 were brought in as we did'nt have the space for all 60 and they were all crawling in mites and the long haired guinea pigs were a mess :weepy:. The sad thing is that most of these piggies are pregnant and we are just waiting now to see if they give birth.

The good news is that alot of them have been adopted which is great. I choose mine because they were put together so they were already friends and they were so mis-match because Daisy is so big and buttercup was a bit of a runt lol.

I have had them for a month now and i'm having a few problems and would really appreciate any help you can give me!

Daisy is most probably pregnant but Im not overly sure. I will take them back to the Rspca at 3 weeks and hopefully be able to take them all home and in seperate cages if there are any males obvisouly! If she is pregnant she has been for over 2 months now so im not sure. They dont allow people to adopt pregnant piggies by the way it's only because I work there.