Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

First Time Pregnant

MistressAshley

Cavy Slave
Hi,

My name is Ashley and I'm new to the fourms. Around Halloween last year, I adopted two pigs from my friend. They are brother and sister, and I kept them together for a while, thinking it would be good to socialize.

Well, they ending up breeding, now my female (Charms) is pregnant. =( I already have homes prepared for the babies, however many there are. I have good steady homes picked out. She has her own seperate cage now, its good size. The male is kept away from her, in his own cage.

I'm not sure how this birth will go, she is pretty big, and you can feel her babies kicking if you put your hands around her belly. I've been reading up, and I think I am prepared for them to come. I'm just not sure if they will come out that great since she got pregnant from her brother. =\ I know the colouring of the babies would be beautiful, but do you think I will end up with any defected babies due to the inbreeding?

Also, any tips? Since Charms and I are both new to this. Thanks.

-Ashley

Ly&Pigs

Cavy Champion, Previous Forum Moderator
Cavy Slave
I think all the babies will be fine. There are thousands of cases where a sow got pregnant by her father, son, brother, uncle, etc and there were no deformities. Cavies aren't like humans when it comes to inbreeding.

Welcome to the forum! I am really glad to hear that you have them separated. Piggies are very social and do well when they have a cage buddy. You might want to keep a baby boar for dad and a baby sow for mom so they won't be as lonely.