Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

C&C cage.. questions

Taboo

Cavy Slave
I was curious about how to make a C&C cage for rabbits. For 1-2 small breeds of rabbits, how many grids would you need? If its tall, does it still need to be 6ft long? Because I've seen C&C cages for rabbits and they don't look 6 ft long (though I'm not that good at judging size from pics) so I was thinking maybe thats an exception for C&C or something.

Like is this the right size? Ed and Beth Brey: Bunny Cage

Silverbeat

Cavy Slave
Those are great instructions. I wouldn't use coroplast with bunnies because they will likely chew/ingest it, causing health problems. I have a similar cage, just bigger and sloppier.
That would be an okay size for a bunny that size. Depending on how many hours a day it gets outside of its cage.
It doesn't need to be 6ft long if it is tall, though it is best to make it as long as possible. For two small-breed rabbits [<5lbs] I would recommend a 2 wide, 4 long, 3 high cage. At least.

crazywiggy

Cavy Slave
Actually I disagree... I feel that generally speaking "lofts" should not count towards the minimum sq footage.
Don't get me wrong - rabbits love having upper levels / shelves to jump on etc. but they are still fundamentally ground dwelling animals.

With guinea pigs, people always say that 2x3 is the minimum so that the pigs can properly run laps and popcorn.

Personally, I feel the same way about rabbits - their cage should be large enough to run laps and do binkies. As rabbits are that much larger than pigs, with a much longer gait (ie take bigger steps) they do need much more room.

A 2x5 c+c cage gives about 13.5 sq foot, so this would be fine for a pair of rabbits but this is the smallest floor space I would go for.

Silverbeat

Cavy Slave