Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register
  • ONE THREAD per pig please!
    We really want your pig's history all in one place to help you. Please don't start a new thread for a new issue. Just reply to your old one. We can edit the title for you if needed.

Unexpected Surprise?

NewbieCavy

Cavy Slave

Hello. I'm fairly new to the whole forum scene so please bare with me. I'm twenty-four years old, and I recently have acquired a guinea pig. She has been living with me for roughly four weeks, and I have noticed a significant change in her shape and size. I purchased her from the pet store that I currently work at (PetSmart) and I believe she may have been impregnated before she arrived to the store.

I know many people stress upon not getting animals at pet stores, but, I haven't come across any cavy rescue foundations in the state of South Carolina.

Anyway, as my name entails, I am new to the care of guinea pigs and I was wondering if I could possibly obtain some helpful feedback? If you want I can take some pictures of Lilith (my girl in question) and maybe it'll be easier for you to tell me if I should worry or not.

I did take her back to the store this morning, and had one of my managers look at her. He said she looked pregnant, but he isn't a vet. I'm been off work for the last month due to surgery, so an expensive vet bill is a bit out of reach right now.

I just want my baby to be ok. I don't have a problem with her having the pups and I would intend on keeping them. I previously purchased a -Much- larger cage, one that can house up to three cavies, because I felt the (only) one that was available at my store, was way too small. I also have an alternative cage if there are any males that need to be seperated 'til I find a more permanent solution.