PDA

View Full Version : My cavy's living space.

guineapig569
01-27-09, 07:02 pm
Hi, I currently have a starting kit cage, and it's practically a litter box and I hate it. I checked the sites for bigger cages and theyre too much for me to spend, being student. Does anyone have any cages, if not I'm a welder and would anyone know where I can get that cage type material, I could weld up one.

auburnmare5
01-27-09, 07:44 pm
It would be cheaper to just make one yourself. The ones you buy online cost more than they actually cost to make because of labor probably, etc... Other cost effective methods are to find alternatives to coroplast. These include the children's foam play mats with a towel/ fleece over them, plywood with a tarp/ shower curtain, a shower curtain, or anything else really. Be creative just as long as you can keep it up, and it is safe for your piggies.

guineapig569
01-27-09, 07:47 pm
Is there anywhere I can buy the cages type material for my pig? Im thinking im going to make a plywood and tarp bottom covered with fleece, but i need some sort of caging, yet again I weld so any type of caging would do, any suggestions anyone?

guineapigluver1
01-27-09, 07:49 pm
Other options besides grids are wire closet shelving.

guineapig569
01-27-09, 08:31 pm
I'm not sure what to do, so far this is what i've figured: the bottom will consist of 18inX36IN plywood with 2 pieces of 6inX18in siding and 2 pieces of 6inX36in siding, from there will surround it with tarp, then fleece. That is all free, and its easy to manage. Caging though....wood chicken wire be ok? I may use the other caging as well on the sides and use the chicken wire and a ceiling

AnimalHouse36
01-27-09, 08:55 pm
I wouldn't suggest a wood cage. You have to use sealent and it would end up being more expensive.

Coroplast is only $20 and lasts for a long time. There are other idea's. I'll list a few. Check out the galleries Alternate cages.