Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Introducing Me & My First Pig

daisymae12

Cavy Slave
Hello all! My name is Olly and I am the brand new owner of my first guinea pig. She was my 18th birthday / christmas present-- I'm a November baby so my mom decided to tie both occasions together!

On December the 18th (since this was for my 18th birthday, hah!) my wonderful mother drove me to PetSmart and surprised me by saying I could have any small animal I wanted! I felt like I was five years old again. I held at least twenty hamsters, a smelly rat (I'm sorry but they stink!), and a gerbil who acted like it was on crack... But I decided on (in my completely no-biased opinion) the cutest small animal they had there, a female guinea pig. I named her Daisy and she's very nervous but I think with careful handling she'll get over that.

I'm a newbie "cavy" owner but I've researched as much as I can, and I'm planning on upgrading Daisy to a C&C cage pronto! Right now she's in a large small animal cage designed for rabbits, but now I know she needs even more room than that! She's very young and small, so I think she'll be okay until I can earn enough money to purchase her new abode.

I've been feeding her Mazuri Pellets (that was what the person who helped me at PetSmart said was the best), Timothy Hay, and fresh kale and carrots. I don't think I have the proper cage to buy her a roommate right now, but I do have plans to eventually purchase her one once I have my new cage.

Oh, her bedding is CareFresh Ultra (the white kind). I don't have a hay rack yet, so I've been feeding her hay just kind of leaned up against her hut. Is that okay? She doesn't seem to mind....

Any advice to keeping Daisy healthy and happy is always welcome!