Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Litter Training Hi, newbie, litter boxes?

gymverb

Cavy Slave
I am new to the cavie world, and have seen many people with litter boxes! My guys go potty in this one area that is only mainly used, so I have made that there litter box. Does that mean I don't need bedding anywhere else? Because they seem to poop everywhere! Thank you guys, and I'd apreciate any other information you think I'd find useful! :)

misspiggy&piper

Cavy Slave
No, you can actually use fleece in the rest of the cage. Some pigs do ALL of their buisness in the pan, but most will poo everywhere regardless. It's just one of those things I guess. My pigs use the litter box really well, even to poo, but their loft where they sleep has to be spot cleaned 2-3 times a day for poos. So it's just one of those things that depend on what you are comfortable with doing. Me, I don't mind cleaning up poo as long as they pee in the box. Maybe you could try fleece with a litter pan and see how you like it. That's what I did, and I would never go back to a full shavings cage.

misspiggy&piper

Cavy Slave
I have found too that since I began using fleece, they have figured out I would like them to use their pan for all of their buisness. HTye have gotten continuously better since the switch! Good Luck to ya in whatever you choose!

gymverb

Cavy Slave
Ok, thank you! Where do I get fleece at? Just like an old fleece blanket? Right now I have newspaper on the bottom, and in certain parts CareFresh. Do I just get a small kitty pan? And how do you make a second level? I have a TON of grids left! And how do you make a hay rack? Sorry for all the questions, this site is very helpful! :)

misspiggy&piper

Cavy Slave