PDA

View Full Version : Mites from stress

miaoyin
11-02-08, 05:37 am
I am new to owning small animals and a few months ago i got a rabbit and a guinea to live together. 50% of the info was for it and 50% against. I tried it and I felt almost immediately that they would both be better with their own company. I got 2 brothers to go with the guinea i already had. My first guinea had been use to throwing his weight around with a bunny and had no problems making it clear he's 'top dog'. 1 of the brothers was fine with it and the two have become very comfortable with each other, the other brother however seems to have been less ok and has now been shunned by the other 2. Last week I had to seperate Binky when I suspected he had ringworm. A trip to the vet ruled out ringworm and has told me its more likely to be mites bought on by stress.
Binky's currently under-going 3 weeks of medical treatment. My concern is where do I go from here...how do I make his life less stressful. Will it be that he'll have to remain on his own? His nose and right ear look so sore at the moment and I wouldnt want him to have to go thru this all again.
Any insights you guys can send my way will be gratefully appreciated.

dra&pigs
11-02-08, 07:02 am