PDA

View Full Version : Eating Newspaper? Help please

luvsgiraffes
07-18-08, 11:48 pm
Hi,
I have a fleece cage for my two pigs. I also have a litter box and a kitchen area that I put newspaper in then care fresh stuff on top. Lately one of my girls has started to eat the newspaper. I thought that maybe it was because there wasn't fresh hay, but I've been really good about making sure that they have plenty of fresh hay and food. Right after I put new hay and food in there, she went and started on chowing down on the newspaper.

I'm guessing this isn't healthy, please what can I do to stop this or prevent it?

(I'm reluctant to stop using the newspaper to line the cage because it makes cleaning their house so much easier.) I will change it if it is endangering them, but as I'm a student I like to have clean up as quick and efficient as possible. Thanks so much!

soccergrl849
07-19-08, 12:08 am
I would suggest calling your newspaper carrier and making sure they print with soy ink. Most companies do but I would check to make sure. My boys also like to munch on the newspaper and I think it may be out of boredom. I don't think they ingest much though so as long as your pigs aren't "eating" it in large quantities and it is soy ink, it doesn't hold a serious health risk from what I have heard and read.
Good Luck!

luvsgiraffes
07-19-08, 12:26 am
Thanks, I have just emailed our newspaper company.
I don't think it is in large amounts... but it is more than nibbling.

PixieStix
07-19-08, 12:43 am
As stated before, most black and white newspapers are printed with vegitable based dies, but getting in touch with the newspaper company is a good idea.

Haley0489
07-19-08, 01:36 am
My piggies enjoy crumpled paper balls as toys which is in essence the same thing. The only hazard is the ink, and others have already addressed that. I think they mostly like to nibble it. I've not actually seen my GPs eat the paper.

Toadies
07-19-08, 11:29 am