Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Newbie here! Hi!

Liann

Cavy Slave
Just introducing myself really quick. My name is Liann and I just "rescued" two female piggies from a person I work with. They were bought from a local pet store (it's actually one of the few reputable pet stores in the area - family run) and he was told they are around 6-8 weeks old. His daughter has already tired of them :grumpy: and he was looking to get rid of them (can you believe that???). I had guinea pigs as a child, but it has been a while, so I am trying to find out all the info. I can. I found this site and made a cage from the coroplast and metal panels from Target. I'm so thankful this site listed links to places that sold the coroplast! The guys at "Signs Now" in Hanover, PA, were wonderful and they even cut and scored it for me. Right now, my cage is 2 x 3 panels, but I plan to expand as my piggies grow. I have enough panels for a mansion!

Anyways, here are the piggies. I was told the first one is a Peruvian. When I comb her, her hair will go semi-straight, but as soon as I put her down, it pops back up into the wild hair look with cow licks etc... I was told it would straighten eventually??? She is soooo soft.

Her name is Dharma - also known as "Diva Pig":

I am still working on a name for the second piggy. I know something will strike me eventually.

And this is their cage. I have added a wooden hide and several toys since taking this pic.

I've only had the piggies for a few days and they are still really skittish. I'm hoping they calm down soon. Everytime I walk by, they squeak and run for cover, lol...

Can't wait to chat with you guys!

Princess Aurora

Cavy Slave
Welcome Liann!!

I am also a newbie so in the mid time we can chat with each other lol

Princess Aurora

Cavy Slave
Cute piggies by the way!