Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

New to pigs and need help please! (one preggers)

amaseya

Cavy Slave
Please don't slam me! Even though I didn't start out the most informed, I"m trying hard to fix things!

About a month or so ago I decided to get a classroom pet for my classroom (I'm a teacher). After getting the o.k. from the school, I decided on a pair of guinea pigs.

I had had pigs when I was younger and remembered how much fun they were and how much I enjoyed interacting and caring for them.

So, as you can imagine, I didn't see that I needed to know more about them than what I remembered, I figured, what else is there to know? (Boy was I wrong but that comes in later).

So I bought two females from a pet store, one a abby x and one a smooth coat. They are really pretty (If I knew how to get photos off of my camera phone, I'd post them).

Fast forward, the one smooth female starts getting bigger. I mean, really big. As in you could fit another one of her in there. Lightning strikes and I realize that she might be pregnant.

I start massivly researching, needless to say, they are now in a 2x4 cube cage in my bedroom and will never be classroom pets. They get tons of food, hay, and fresh veggies a day, fresh water, and their cage is newspaper covered in fleece with a little pan with shavings in it that they go to the bathroom in. There are several boxes for them to hide adn chew on and I love watching them popcorn about (well, the abby x more than the pregnant one).

Today I picked up the smooth coated one, very carefully, and I could actually feel the lumps from the babies. How long do I have until she gives birth? I couldn't feel the babies move, nor did I hold her too long or press too hard, I didn't want to stress her out.