Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Hi I'm a newbie

katie84

Cavy Slave
Hi all, my name is Katie, I am 23yrs from the UK.
I've never owned a GP and very new to it all, I have been researching for a few months before I commit to buying 2.

Any advice, help, support is most grateful. I won’t be getting the GP’s for a few weeks as I am moving home this week, so I will wait til I am settled in my new house.

I understand that the GP’s have to be fed fresh food daily, does anyone have a copy of a table they have of what they do, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday etc so I can use that to start me off as a guide as to what to feed them. I have been told fruits are only to be feed a few times a week, not daily, so as you can see I don’t want to feed them too much of a good thing if you know what I mean.

Also if anyone can offer any more advice I’d really appreciate it :crazy:

I look forward to getting to know you all x

pigsforlife

Cavy Slave
You should be fine!! I am a guinea pig mum of 3 sows, all under the age of 6 months. Here is my routine for a day:
7:00am - 7:30am = Breakfast
Unlimited hay and a good plain pellet

I then pick at least 3 vegetables of the following list:
Red capsicum/bell peppers
Parsley
Red curly leaf lettuce
Baby carrot and leaves
Bok Choy
Baby Spinach (causes gas in some guinea pigs)

Occasional treats include
Strawberry tops (you can eat the strawberry yourself, just give the guinea pigs the leaves)
Apple Slices
Banana Slices
Orange Slices

4:00pm to 5:00pm = Floor time
Guinea pigs need at least 1 hour of floor time in a piggy safe room

5:00pm to 5:30pm = Cuddles
This does not happen every day though.

7:00pm to 7:30pm = Dinner