PDA

View Full Version : Chloroplast Alternative

PaulF
08-04-07, 01:38 pm
What would be a suggested alternative to Chloroplast, i've found none in my local area, but i'm going to continue to shop. Although, I'm also not interested in spending a deal of money on some but it wouldnt bother me to do so.

Currently, I have some Cubes, well 2 boxes of (6) cubes sitting in my room right now, ready for construction.

I'm just waiting on the liner such as chloroplast or something cheaper and do-able.

ellig123
08-04-07, 10:07 pm
It's not something I've tried myself so I have no personal experience of using it but the Cavy Cages website seems to recommend linoleum as an alternative. There are some photos here: Cavy Cages - Linoleum Base (http://imageevent.com/cavyspirit/cavycageslinoleumbase) . Hope that helps :)

PaulF
08-06-07, 10:37 am
Yes, That was what I was going to do since I cant seem to find any stores that sell Chloroplast.. I was at lowes getting some tubing and cooling stone, and zip ties when i saw the linoleum flooring, I picked up a square foot of it and i just thought maybe they would chew it up.. but i guess if it seems to work.

My question is, if you have a piggy that is still a pup and is teething, will the linoleum be harmful to him?

TX_2_Pigs
08-06-07, 10:59 am
Piggy pups don't teethe. They are born with their teeth already fully grown in. Make sure that it has unlimited timothy hay and is supplemented with alfalfa hay if it is less than 6 months old.

Chances are that your piggy won't be interested in chewing the linoleum once you have the bedding in but if it does, make sure it has some alternatives like paper towel tubes, shoe or soda boxes or some apple twigs.

Good luck and be sure to post pics. We always love seeing pictures. You can put your cage pictures in the gallery but your piggy pictures need to be put in something like photobucket and then can be inserted directly into your message or added as an attachment.

PaulF
08-06-07, 07:37 pm