Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Do your piggies come to you and let you pet them

C

CCPig

Do your piggies come to you and let you pet them

I am jut wondering and if they do can you give me tips on how to make them let you pet them and is there a way to potty train them?

L

lchap87

nope

im no expert ill say that much but my pig doesnt come to me. when i try to pet him he runs. i think is part of the animal of prey thing. i dont really know. but thats what my pig does. like i said im no expert. if im wrong im sorry but thats my little bit of knowledge.

~Laura

A

alilporkbun

Come Here Pigger

Actually, I've gotten my pigs to come to me- kind of.

If Frank sees me, he comes running. But this is probably because he wants food, not to see me or be pet. I don't know if he actually recognizes me, or assumes any huge thing on two legs is going to feed him. You don't necessarily have to feed them a treat everytime. Frank loves it when I hand-feed him hay.

If either Frank or Zoe hear me, they come running. The moment they hear me speak a certain way, they pop out of their pigloos to see if I am around. But this is also probably related to food. They do recognize voices. All you have to do is to assocaite your voice with food or something like that. My mom thinks I'm nuts, but sometimes, just sometimes, I talk to them while I feed or pet them.

As for letting you pet them, I don't know if you can train that. I suppose if you show them that you are nice and gentle, they won't freak out and run. My pigs let me pet them sometimes, and sometimes not. They pretty much choose. I usually start petting them on the bridge of their noses to the top of their heads very gently and that tends to warm them up for more.