Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Hi, newbie here

JustSmile

Cavy Slave
Hello,

My name is Jordan and I am new to the forums. I bought my first guinea pigs around three years ago. One for me and one for my sister. Unfortunately, my sister's guinea pig died a few months back, but I still have mine. He's adorable.

At the moment he lives outside in a hutch but because his companion has gone (my sister's guinea pig) I am looking into buying an indoor cage for him. I don't know if that will help at all but I would also prefer him to be indoors. :)

'Hi' from me :)

envisionary333

Cavy Slave
Welcome to the forum! :)

First of all, I think it is ABSOLUTELY necessary to house your piggy indoors from now on. Here are a couple links to help you understand why:

Guinea Lynx :: Housing
https://www.guineapigcages.com/foru...e-breeding-care-housing-disaster-threads.html
(scroll down the page for the relevant housing info in the last link)

Also, now that your piggy is alone you should consider getting him a new buddy so he isn't lonely. Here is a little info about a guinea pig's social life:

Guinea Lynx :: Companionship
https://www.cavyspirit.com/sociallife.htm

There are hundreds of guinea pigs available for adoption across the country, and I'm sure you can find a lovable, sweet piggy in need of a good home. Check petfinder.com to get started.

I know you've had your piggy for a while and some of this information might be redundant for you, but I thought I should provide it nevertheless. Unfortunately many pet stores and internet sites don't provide accurate info on the care of guinea pigs. This site, as well as Guinea Lynx, are the best sources of information you can find online and I'm sure you'll be able to learn something new here! Have a look at the sticky threads in each forum because they are especially helpful.