Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Late introduction

Lakota

Cavy Slave
I'm late with this introduction because I've already posted like 12 posts in other threads. I'm sorry about that.

Anyways, I'm Allison and I'm studying to be a vet tech. I don't own any guinea pigs at the moment (everyone else in my family has mutliple animal allergies), but I am baby-sitting two for the month. They're to be used at my school so we can learn how to handle guinea pigs. So many people want to adopt the pigs we use in this program that my 2 already have homes!

I suppose I can talk about these 2 guinea pigs even though they're not mine. They are sisters and about 2 to 3 months old. They came from PetSmart. Both are Crested. One is definitely an American Crested, but the other might qualify as an English Crested. It's a bit hard to tell because that one happens to be a calico.

The American is gold (or buff-- I'm not too familiar with guinea pig colours), and I'm calling her Taffy. The calico has patches of tan and dark brown but only on her head! The rest of her body is white. I'm calling her Rudy. Both of them are high-strung little buggers; I don't think they've been socialized with people too much in the past. >_< Taffy is a bit shyer and often cuddles with you once you catch her. Rudy is more active, harder to catch, and won't sit still when you hold her. She's an explorer! Oddly enough despite being harder to catch, she is the only one of the 2 that will eat food from your hand.