Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Newbie Here

Lucie

Cavy Slave
Hi everyone;
I thought I would introduce myself and say what a great informative forum, I have learned so much.

I am Sue, the Momma to 4. We recently picked up 2 Guinea Pigs from freecycle. The kids and I have been researching them and learning about them before we were going to buy 2. Well when I saw them on freecycle I knew it was meant to be, I wanted to adopt them before someone else would and maybe not have good intentions.

Well, when we went to pick them up they told me that the Momma is pregnant. She wasn't sure how far along. :eye-poppi

My question is I know they can get pregnant really soon after giving birth but if I put a grid between them they still can't somehow mate through the holes can they? I know probably a stupid question but there are enough unwanted pets out there I don't need to add to the problem.

Thanks, and wish me luck, I don't know much about g.p. babies but I have a feeling I am going to learn pretty soon. :cool:

Tulip

Cavy Slave
Hi and welcome!

They need to seperated into completely seperate cages ~ Not just in the same cage with a grid between them. The mom will be able to get pregnant again right after giving birth, so you will want to seperate them ASAP as the birthing can be quite quick and often missed by owners. Also be preparing to baby-proof your cage.

What are you planning on doing with the babies? I know that probably depends on how many she has. Depending on your space and what you want to take on you could just have 2 seperate cages ~ one for the boys and one for the girls. But you'll have to wait and see what she has before all that can be figured out.

Remember to seperate your male and female now ~ just in case she isn't pregnant and to prevent more babies. What kind of cage are they in?