Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Just joined Cavy Cages

extensiblecow

Cavy Slave
:eek:ptimist: I've just joined Cavy Cages' Forum !
And I am new to GPs ! Never lived with, looked after, nor care for GPs till March this year when I adopted Ginger and Wiggley !
I've kept their original names in honour of the previous owner who had done such a great job in raising them.
I think they are matured boys judging from their size. The previous owner couldn't remember how long they had them - the boys were such great joy to be with that it seemed forever !
I inherited a standard pet shop plastic cage where I keep the boys in door (especially now that it's getting really cold), and a huge 2-storey wooden cage (raised) that sits in the backyard. The wooden cage needs abit of doing up, eg draft-proof, ramp patching etc.
I am looking to buy Cubes and Coroplast to make a bigger indoor cage for the boys !

Last edited:

SW <3 Guineas

Cavy Slave
Those are really great photos and WOW stunning boys :D !!!

Welcome to the cavy forum, you'll definately find alot of information here! Just a quick hint, make sure their is lots of room in the indoor cage when you make it because boars can be a little agressive when they are to confined.

floey

Cavy Slave
Yeah and with a larger indoor cage their personality and quirky characters will come shining through!

extensiblecow

Cavy Slave
Managed to find cubes / grid storage blocks and built the boys a 2x4 cage. I bought enough to build a 2x5 but my home isn't big enough ! House needs some renovation but in the meantime, 2x4 is better than the standard pet shop plastic cage they came in with when I first adopted them in March.

Still let them out for floor time every other evening if not every evening, depending on how early I get home from work !