Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Introduction

LRV555

Cavy Slave
Hello all, I am Linda and I live in E. Texas by Lake of the Pines. I am a teacher of handicapped children and love what I do. I raise chihuahuas and have 2 boxer puppies. I have 3 chickens and several parrots. I have a mini horse, and 2 donkeys. I had g. pigs as a teenager and have not had any since. I am ready to have a few now..

mzmerize

Cavy Slave
Hi Linda, welcome! I've only been a member for a week but found this place a few months ago and its given me lots of valuable info and ideas. Are you going to rescue some piggies or buy from a store/breeder?

LRV555

Cavy Slave
I would prefer to rescue some. If I have to buy it will be from a breeder.
Thanks for the welcome.. Linda

Percy's Mom

Cavy Slave
Please please please do NOT buy them from a breeder. They are one of the main causes of animal overpopulation. It is extremely common for most breeders to house their cavies in very small cages and breed the sows over and over until they get sick or worse die. I'm sure you'll notice pretty quickly that this forum is very anti-breeder and/or petstore purchase and VERY pro-rescue/adopt. If there is not a rescue or shelter in your area that has guinea pigs that need adopting, there are several websites that list adoptables, and you can also check your local newspaper.

JennG

Cavy Slave
Welcome to the forum! I believe there are plenty of guinea pigs available in Texas. I'm just not sure if any are close to you. Good luck on finding a pair for you.

My Baby Mu

Cavy Slave
Welcome to the forum. Try to adopt guinea pigs from a shelter. Texas Rustlers Guinea Pig Rescue is overflowing with guinea pigs right now (Dallas), Houston also has a guinea pig rescue. Other places in E. Texas should also have some (possibly Tyler).

munchkin

Cavy Slave