Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Hello~!

Jammers

Cavy Slave
How are you guys :D

Its a pleasure to join your forums and see what other cavy owners do to keep their guineas happy! I aspire to ask many questions here as well as look up information and tips from more experienced cavy owners!

This is my first time owning guinea pigs, I've had a hamster I've cared for over 2 years then past away, so I have some experience with small animals. I've read how guineas are very sociable and their cute little weeks and since their much bigger than hamsters... I went and got one!

Now, I currently have two male cavys, brownie and elvis, i've had brownie for almost 3 months now, and elvis i've had for about a month and a half.

I had another before this couple, but died weeks shortly and I've learned the hard truth about buying from a chain pet store. Yes, these two were also purchased at a chain store, but i really don't regret because they've gotta be in a better place than there...so i bought em a new life.

I've searched in and out of websites and learned alot about basic guinea care and am willing to learn more!

I had a store bought cage at first (i bought the largest one 12inx33in), but soon figured it wasn't enough. So i made plans to build an C&C 2'x4' cage and wow, it was wonderful. I had a ramp, but decided to take that out (they wern't using it). I've used zip ties since they are more reliable than those plastic snaps and i didn't have to worry about shortage either.

My cage contains
- kaytee aspen bedding
-a corner litter tray with carefresh (but they use it as a hang out place),
-2 pigloos
-a fleece cozy cup (large)
-and I've bought some 4in ovc plumbing elbows for tunnels...but then used them for dispensing hay.
- a chube (other hang out spot)
- 2 water bottles filled with fresh filtered water
- a mirror