PDA

View Full Version : Newbie question

SoCal
05-03-06, 07:13 pm
Hi all! I am planing to buy two guinea pigs but before I do, I need to learn more about them. First I want to know if I should get two female, two males, or one of each. Also, how can you tell the males from the females?
Many thanks!

shscheerchick
05-03-06, 07:18 pm
If I were you I wouldnt get a female and a male unless they are neutared/spayed or are in sparate cages. They will breed and you dont want little piggies running around (p.s. this is an anti-breeding site just to let you know so if you accidently have a litter you can pm me and Ill give you more advice)

SoCal
05-03-06, 07:35 pm
Thank you so much! Where do I get sparate cages? The man I called at the pet store here didn't know what I was talking about.

Smitti
05-03-06, 07:39 pm
By seprate cages, shscheerchick means 2 cages

Sarasota
05-03-06, 07:44 pm
Thank you Smitty. I'm a newbie too and I was confused.

SoCal
05-03-06, 07:45 pm
ok then! Thank you :D

shscheerchick
05-03-06, 08:23 pm
That is exactly what I ment. Sometimes the store people arent that much help and if you but I would reconmend not getting a gp from the pet store though because they sometimes give you the wrong info and there are lots of gps in shelters

rabbitsncavyluv
05-03-06, 08:25 pm
I would go by personality and I wouldn't listen to the pet store. They frequently give out bad info. Please look over www.guinealynx.info (http://www.guinealynx.info) for care info.

What part of socal are you in? I'm in LA.

Look over this website: www.cavycages.com (http://www.cavycages.com) Pet store cages are too small and you can build bigger cages for cheaper.

If you adopt from a rescue, they can tell you what sex the pigs are. Pet stores are often wrong and there are many homeless gps here. Pet store pigs are often sick too.

www.petfinder.com (http://www.petfinder.com)

SoCal
05-03-06, 08:26 pm
How do you tell the males from the females? Also, do females have menstrual periods?