Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register
  • If you need a specific country prefix that isn't listed, please contact the staff.

Canada Help! Is it too late to find a friend?

Shandamirand

Cavy Slave
Well I have had my piggy Hughbert for over 2 months now, and I realize I should have adopted two rather than one. I have heard that males do not get along too well with eachother, and I don't really want to start my own guinea pig farm... is it too late to introduce a new member to the family?

I'm happy to hear anypones input, since i'm still learning about their behavior and what not.

Thanks very much!

Shandamirand

Cavy Slave
Here i am replying to my own post! :p Well i was browsing through some of the forums and found someone witha simular problem, but i've decided to make my own cage, with an alternative divider JUST in case.

But I am still wondering if it would be better to get a male or female friend for my male guinea pig. (If it was a girl she would have to be neutered) Anyways thank you for any tips and advice!

LiciaMommycott

Cavy Slave
I ran into the same situation. I got my first pig for Valentine's Day knowing that I needed two pigs but had to slowly work on my husband. A couple of weeks ago I got my way and a second pig. I called the vet to check out the price of fixing pigs and it was $120 for the male or $180 for the female. There was no way I was going to spend that kind of money on a small rodent so we decided to go ahead and try a second male.