Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

My piggie family of four.

KjerstiMoo

Cavy Slave
It's about time I introduce myself and my piggies.
My name is Kjersti and I live in Norway with Love (my boyfriend) and our little family of piggers.
Love never had any pets when growing up, so he was very skeptical when I decided to buy Monster, our first. But that little oinker won us both over.
When we moved into a bigger apartment, we wanted to get Monster company. And we completely fell in love with the teddy Lilo. I've had some bad experiences with placing a young male with an older boar before, so Lilo being a girl was really just perfect, even though it meant snip-snip for Monster. Poor guy, that's a vet visit no male wants to do :D

Not long after, we discovered that Lilo was expecting. The pet store had mis-sexed her and after a month we suddenly had six guinea pigs! Two of them we adopted away to family (together, so that they wouldn't be lonely) and two we kept. Tresko and Pinky.

Then came the whole process of building them a cage. Coroplast isn't widely available in Norway, so I had to order it from godknowswhere and get it shipped. The cubes were also a toughie. Sweden proved to be the answer. And that's how they got their 4x3 c&c cage.

Lilo is the boss. Undisputed. She's the largest and the hog'iest. She'll hog the biggest piece of lettuce and hide it in one of the houses while going back for more.
Monster is desperately trying to maintain his male status, with Pinky as his favorite hareem girl, but generally he's sweet natured and the only pig who won't wiggle when I pick him up. He also has a great dim stare which is hilarious.