Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Expert help needed

Oliver's Mom

Cavy Slave
Hello Everyone,

I'm new to the cavy world! About two weeks ago I adopted a two yr old cavy from our local ARL. His new name is Oliver, he's very sweet, you can tell he has been handled quite a bit in the past. My concern is that he is very quiet, I've only heard him talk a couple times and he doesn't run around his cage much. I've arranged food at both ends of the cage so he has a reason to go back and forth and the cage is plenty large enough for him. He has vet checked just fine, he eats and drinks plenty so I'm really not concerned with this being a health issue. Many of you have adopted, is this normal? Does he just need more time? He's not afraid of people and will come out of his house when I'm in the room. Any suggestions?

Thanks for any help!

nonamian_girl

Cavy Slave
He definitely needs more time, but a friend to explore with would also help.

JennG

Cavy Slave
I agree with nonamina_girl. He'll come around once he's gotten used to you and his new home but he really needs a friend. Guinea pigs are herd animals and most do alot better with a friend. Good luck and welcome to the forum. Here's a good link to read up on their social lives: https://cavyspirit.com/sociallife.htm.

twinkies

Cavy Slave
As Jenn said, he needs time to get used to his new home. And I bet with another piggy, he will perk right up and talking lots of piggy talk.

JennG

Cavy Slave
My girls are pretty quiet unless one of the following is happening: a) someone's picking on someone else or b) it's dinner/breakfast time. When it's veggie time, is when they get the loudest! :)

Ly&Pigs

Cavy Champion, Previous Forum Moderator
Cavy Slave
You say he has a pretty large cage. Can you give measurements and is it a C&C cage or a petstore cage?

C&K

Cavy Slave