Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register
  • If you need a specific country prefix that isn't listed, please contact the staff.

Australia Cost of a guinea pig?

csharpmajor

Cavy Slave
Hi, I'm new around here :3 This may seem like a stupid question, but how much can I expect to pay for a pig? I've got one from a pet store and now that I've learned a bit more I've realised I, uh, need another one. So I got a nice big C&C cage built and everything else taken care of... all I need now is another guinea pig which I plan to get from a breeder or the RSPCA but I've never done that before so do they cost about the same as from a pet shop or more?

Oh and I called a bunch of breeders and they basically all told me to go to this show on April 1st. Since I'm not really looking for a show quality pig do I reeaaally need to go there? (It's kind of far away.) Should I call them back?

Aertyn

Cavy Gazer
Im not sure, but i think the rspca would probably give you one for free (we don't actually have a rescue center in my town, all the pigs that are dumped go straight to a pet store after a check up and are sexed correctly by a vet, tis the joy of living in a tiny country town that regards them as nothing better than rats)

Like i said, I doubt whether you would have to pay anything at all, but if you don't have to pay, it would be nice to give them a donation anyway as they do do a lot of good work (most of the time anyway)

Whatever you do, do NOT get him/her from a breeder, it might take a while for a pig of the right sex to come up at the rspca but it's always best to rescue one, rather than buy one from a breeder who's getting rid of it because it's colours aren't right.

VoodooJoint

Cavy Champion, Previous Forum Moderator!
Cavy Slave
csharpmajor said: