Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Veg*n Introducing my daughter to the veggie forum

Southerngirl

Cavy Slave
Hi guys, I am fairly new to this board having gotten my first pair of guinea pigs just about 3 weeks ago. This is my first time posting to the vegetarian forum. I am not a vegetarian, neither is anyone in my family, except my 6 year old daughter. She decided on her own to become a vegetarian about a year ago after we visited Disney's Animal Kingdom. She has allways been an intense animal lover (she was the one who got me interested in adding some piggies to our family) and decided she couldn't bear to eat them anymore. She has seen me on this board and wanted me to start posting for her so we could share some recipes, thoughts, etc.

I also wanted to offer so words of encouragment to those other young vegetarians around here, especially the ones whose parents are not supporting them. It seems to me to be very tough to be a young vegetarian, what with the food they serve in schools and most "kid friendly" restaurants not being very veggie friendly. It has taken a lot of imagination to help my daughter eats as she likes but im glad she is being so mindful of her animal friends and Im happy she has chosen such a healthy lifestyle. So chins up young veggies! Don't give up!

xguineapigrulez

Cavy Slave
Keep the veggies up! Have you asked your daughter to visit any of those Chinese vegetarian restaurants? they have fake meat, fish etc. there! the food tastes good!

Southerngirl

Cavy Slave
I don't know if we have one of those around here, thats neat though! She usually just orders veggie lo mein and a veggie spring roll.