Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Hello Everyone !!!!!

curbilly

Cavy Slave
I am new to the forums, and also new to the world of Guinea Pigs. I recently purchased 3 baby boy Skinny Pigs that will be shipped to me in a few weeks. I have just finished their new home (I will post photos in the proper thread) and I am so looking forward to being a guinea pig parent

bpatters

Staff member
Cavy Slave

curbilly

Cavy Slave
Thank you for the links, I am new to joining but i have been visiting here for months lol....I posted some photos of the cage setup in the other thread, if u would be so kind to take a look and give me your thoughts. Thanks again

lissie

Cavy Slave
Boar trios are harder to stay together peacefully in the long run. Can you get only two?

curbilly

Cavy Slave
I have a deposit on all 3, so i am not sure. I was originally only getting 2, but the breeder asked if I was interested in all 3 since they were siblings.

bpatters

Staff member
Cavy Slave
Siblings don't matter as far as getting along. I'm with [MENTION=11509]lissie[/MENTION] -- pairs are much easier. We never recommend trios.

curbilly

Cavy Slave
Thanks for the advice, I guess I need to have a discussion with the breeder, not sure why this isn't something that would of been brought up.

bpatters

Staff member
Cavy Slave
Because the breeder is in the business of selling pigs. Their adjustment after they're with you isn't his top priority.

curbilly

Cavy Slave
I totally get that if I was paying for the 3rd one, but I paid for 2 of them and the 3rd was just an adoption. In your experience is their a time period before they start to not get along? I?m wondering if I can keep all 3 and then just move 1 to a different cage later on

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Soecara

Cavy Slave