PDA

View Full Version : Trying to take care of him like takes care of me

FuzzyFrankin
04-06-18, 03:14 am
Hi! I'm a student from Toronto who decided to adopt my Franklin (a little bit older than 1 year now!) back in January.
My dwarf hamster, Mippy, died last summer at 21/2 years old.
I had adopted him from a friend 8 months prior but had known him since he was a baby, as I often spent time with him at my friends house.
He became a therapy pet for me and I was totally wracked with guilt and pain when he died.
I was working a 45+ hour week at the time and had barely gotten to spend time with him before he passed.
I tried considering getting another dwarf hamster but it felt like I'd be replacing him, even after almost 5 months.
At the same time, taking care of him had become therapeutic and I needed something to fill that void.

Just out of making small talk with my dad, I learned two of his friends were looking for homes for their guinea pigs,
and I instantly warmed up to the idea of taking on a new animal. After a lot of pestering and one of the families deciding
not to give their pig away, Franklin was delivered to me with less than a week to prepare, sweet and totally unlike any other skinny pig I'd ever seen.
He completely brought me out of my depression and I can't imagine life without him, even though it's only been 3 months.:o

Right now I am definitely working to get him a partner, I have something arranged with someone else looking to re home their little boy
(just in case anyone was worried about that).
Only problem is I took Franklin to the vet yesterday to address some strange behaviors and it turns out he has a URI,
So I'm going to have to wait till he gets better before he gets to meet his new friend.
I figured I may as well introduce myself here in case I need help with managing it and want to ask for advice.
Franklin is usually a complete drama queen and loves to get himself into trouble too,