PDA

View Full Version : A New Guinea Pig - Should I get 2

Guinea2002
07-20-17, 05:12 pm
So on July 4th we were at a BBQ at my uncles and my Mother and Sister went to go pick up some pizzas on the way out a man was giving away all his Guinea Pigs that had lived on a Nice Farm but the man had to move and couldn't take them all he only had one pig left as the last 3 had been adopted so they got the Guinea Pig he had said that the the Pig was still a baby and liked spending time on his own he loved being with the humans more than his brothers and sisters should I get a second guinea pig or should I let the Guinea Pig stay alone. It seems very happy and everything has lots of toys I still need a few more things like a proper hay rack but anyway what should i do? By the way I have been doing Piggy research since 2014 and many people recommend 2

Guinea Pig Papa
07-20-17, 05:26 pm
Guinea pigs are almost always happier in pairs. Sometimes you'll find a pig that just can't get along with any other pigs, but even living next to another in separate cages where they can see and smell and "talk" to each other is better than being alone.

CavyTV
07-20-17, 06:26 pm
Here are a few links that will help answer your questions:

http://guinea-pigs.livejournal.com/2982433.html
http://www.cavyspirit.com/sociallife.htm
http://jackiesguineapiggies.com/Companionship.html

And finally, here's everything you need to know on how to bond them successfully:

http://guinea-pigs.livejournal.com/3002707.html