Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Cavies in Classrooms

daftscotslass

Cavy Slave
Since this topic was touched on on another thread I thought I would bring it up here. Is it right to keep animals as pets in a classroom? Can they truly get the attention they need? I'm a student teacher in primary (elementary) education and every primary school in my region will not keep animals for care and medical (i.e. allergies) reasons. Most teachers I know are dead set against it.

I'm a firm believer that there is no point in keeping animals in a classroom. There is too much noise, too many fluctuations in temperature, lack of care at weekends (unless the teacher takes them home) and lack of facilities to care for them, let alone hygiene issues. It doesn't matter how scrupulously clean you believe you are with children and the animals, there is still an issue with children and animal faeces.

"But some children don't have pets at home, how are they meant to learn about animals and keeping pets?" Simple. It's called reading. They should be able to research in books and on the internet. As a treat they could have an animal rescuer come in to talk to them or a visit to a farm or zoo. I'm in the process of arranging a visit to my class from Customs and Excise who will talk about the trade in furs, skins and endangered species, bringing in confiscated items and animals for the children to observe. They don't need an animal in their class to teach them the whys and hows of animal welfare. Many of them will take this knowledge home to their pet ownership. We've read a poem about a rabbit abandoned in a hutch outdoors, forgotten about. They are reading a satirical novel by Anne Fine. They are PASSIONATE about animal welfare without needing a pet in class.