Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Want a Guinea Pig(s) Confused Future Guinea Pig Owner

ElissaSky

Cavy Slave
Hi everyone. I have been researching the idea of adopting a guinea pig for a few months now. I have the supplies to build a C&C cage. I'm not sure if I am getting 2 or 3 pigs yet. I live in a 2 bedroom apartment and the piggies would occupy my second bedroom. I'm planning on building my cage to accommodate 3 pigs because this way if I end up just getting 2, then there is really no such thing as too much space. I plan to build a 2x6 grid cage with a 2x2 grid loft. I will build a ramp with the leftover coroplast. I have access to a farmers market that has vegetables year round. I figure I can go there to purchase fresh veggies for them. I already have Oxbow Timothy Hay and Oxbow Orchard Grass. I thought i would add a little of the Orchard Grass to their hay every now and again.

On to my confusion. I had originally planned to adopt sisters from a local shelter and then also a 3rd sow from another shelter. The sisters are already a bonded pair and the 3rd sow doesn't currently have a cage mate at the shelter. During my research I came across a video about what sex to get as a novice guinea pig owner. In the video it was mentioned that it is ideal to have 1 neutered boar and 1 or 2 sows because this is closest to their natural environment. It was also mentioned that having a herd of all sows could result in the sows developing ovarian cysts. I found an adorable boar that I would not mind owning. I'm interested in continuing to learn more about guinea pig care as I raise my pigs and want to give myself and my future pigs the best chance of success, but I am confused about whether to go with 2 or 3 sows or 1 boar and 2 sows.

I would greatly appreciate any advice you guys have to offer
Elissa

jaycriae