PDA

View Full Version : Greetings from Bugman and Wes

bugman
02-01-16, 11:21 am
Howdy, folks! I have had a cavy companion for bout five months now. I name him Wes after late horror movie director Wes Craven, who died the night before I got him. I am a school teacher and I took Wes off the hands of a former family of mine. I love him dearly and have been lurking around here to learn the ins and outs of cavy care; i have mostly had small, cold-blooded animals--reptiles, fish, tarantulas--and large mammals--cats, dogs, children--so this was my first foray into small/medium-sized mammals. I have learned a lot from reading through the various threads on this wonderful site.

Currently, Wes lives in a 3.5'x1.5' cage, but I am planning on upgrading eventually. Currently, he lives in my classroom, so there are space limitations, but I want to build higher. I'm also very interested in setting Wes up in something that would approximate his natural, south-american mountain habitat, but I'm not sure how realistic or feasible this would actually be.

Anyway, this is a great site, and I look forward to being more active here. Thanks for all the goo tips and advice.

bpatters
02-01-16, 11:30 am
Actually, guinea pigs need flat, open spaces rather than heights. They love to run "zoomies," around and around the cage, and they can't do that if things are up. They're not climbers, and they didn't live in the mountains, but rather on the grassy flats at a fairly high altitude.

He really needs a buddy -- guinea pigs do much better with a pal.

bugman
02-01-16, 11:53 am
Actually, guinea pigs need flat, open spaces rather than heights. They love to run "zoomies," around and around the cage, and they can't do that if things are up. They're not climbers, and they didn't live in the mountains, but rather on the grassy flats at a fairly high altitude.

He really needs a buddy -- guinea pigs do much better with a pal.

yeah, i agree, workin on a pal.