Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Cage Questions about cage and bedding

TheBlackSwann

Cavy Slave
Hello everyone,

I am new to this and I getting 2 guinea pigs soon and I am researching cages and bedding. I don't really mind how convenient or easy the cages/bedding are because I have a lot of time to clean the cages so I would just like to know the cheapest method. I am deciding on a midwest cage with a loft, 2x3 c&c cage with a loft, or a 2X4 c&c cage with a loft. I have the space for them I just don't know which one is cheaper to make or buy. Also, I would like to know if fleece e or vetbed or some other bedding besides loose paper based type bedding is the cheepes and how I can find it and put it together. I know some people put uhaul under fleece but is it possible to just use uhaul and nothing else and if not how do I make fleece liners because I heard that the pre made fleece liners are expensive. I also don't plan on expanding my cage. Thanks so much!

-Alysse Swann

bpatters

Staff member
Cavy Slave
Nobody uses plain u-haul, or at least, they shouldn't. It just gets wet, and the pigs run the risk of bumblefoot, urine scald, and urinary tract infection. You want fleece over something absorbent (u-haul, towels, pellets, etc) so they'll stay dry.

Look at the fleece forum. There's all sorts of bedding information on there.

TheBlackSwann

Cavy Slave
ok thank you I will check there

magicpiggie

Cavy Slave
Get the 2x4 without a loft. Upper levels don't count towards square footage, plus it is cheaper to buy.

TheBlackSwann

Cavy Slave
about how many cubes would I need for a 2x4 and loft and what are the measurements?

TheBlackSwann

Cavy Slave
also do I need the outside part of the coroplast that make it a tray for the cage or can I just use one flat piece?

bpatters

Staff member
Cavy Slave