PDA

View Full Version : New here, still have not adopted.

mci1986
10-01-15, 01:39 pm
Hiya, my name is Mike and I an currently in the process of adopting a pair of guinea pigs.

A little about myself - I am an accountant and I used to have cats growing up but I had to leave my cat behind with my mother due to my allergies when I moved out (we had discussed this and she wanted to keep him rather than giving him up to a shelter). It has been a few years since I have had a pet - I had decided it was time to find a new one. After handling and being around guinea pigs at the local shelter I found out that I do not have an allergic reaction. If I had a cage set up at home I would have adopted the two guinea pigs from the shelter right there, but by the time I was able to find the materials for a C&C cage they had already been adopted out.

I'll be honest, had I not done any research on Guinea Pigs and their care I would have just bought two from a pet store and have called it a day. Instead I am currently working the the local rescue, the [DC] Metropolitan Guinea Pig Rescue, on getting approved to adopt my first guinea pigs.

I'm sure that I will have a few questions and hopefully I'll have plenty of cute photos to share in the near future!

bpatters
10-01-15, 02:09 pm
Welcome to the forum! Good luck on finding some guinea pigs, and thank you for adopting rather than buying.

ThePigAlchemist
10-01-15, 04:41 pm
Welcome! Looks like you live in the same area as me. I hear great things about MGPR, although I haven't adopted from them. I look at the pigs on their site all the time, though.

jaycriae
10-01-15, 07:43 pm
Good luck and congratulations! Have you made sure you're not allergic to the hay? (No fear if you are, there are hypoallergenic grasses out there that work fine, you'd just need to buy them online.)

mci1986
10-02-15, 05:15 am
I am pretty sure after handling a bit of the hay. Even if I am I have much better insurance now so I can deal with the allergies.