Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Hello! Long time rabbit owner, new piggie owner!

Lisard

Cavy Gazer
Hello all!
My name is Lis, and I'm a longtime rabbit owner, but I just adopted my first guinea pig from a rural shelter about an hour from home. I also have a dog (a great pyrenees).
I've owned rabbits for 26 years (which also happens to be my age).
My three bunnies are Navi, Sheogorath, and Cirilla. They are happily bonded.
My piggie is Little Light. He's 3 years old. Here's his shelter pic, which is way better than any I've gotten yet.
ll.jpg

I'm a teacher, and Little Light will be my classroom pet. However, he'll come home with me on weekends and holidays. I pay all of his expenses out of my own pocket. His primary role in my classroom will be as a stress release for me.:p
I'm hoping to eventually find a herd member for Little Light, but I'm still learning his language.

just8be8free

Cavy Slave
Hi welcome to the forum. Little Light is adorable and I love his colouring. How big is his cage? And you should really consider getting him a cage mate asap. And since there are going to be a lot of kids in the class he will get a lot of love. My teacher had a class pet last year (when I was in year 6), it was a mouse. Everyone loved him. So I think it's a really nice idea to have a guinea pig as a class pet. I hope this forum will provide you with a lot of information like it does for me. :)

Lisard

Cavy Gazer
His cage is far too small (the shelter gave it to me). I'm only using it until I can pick some coroplast up after school on Monday.
I've built C&C cages for my bunnies before, so I'm no stranger to them.

wombats

Cavy Slave