PDA

View Full Version : Neutering/Spaying Stop all food 12hrs before taking him to the vet??

Elyzian
07-23-15, 01:35 am
This sounds like complete BS to me... the vet sent a message telling me that I should remove all food at 8:30pm tonight.. he goes in to the vet at 8:30am tomorrow and god only knows how long until they actually do the neutering.

I've had a big spat with my partner cos I told him I'm not going to take his food away, and my partner believes the vet and said fine he will do it then :/

What do you guys all think?

kairi26
07-23-15, 02:07 am
I'm not an expert at all, but I have a few thoughts.

Often, doctors recommend that a person fasts before anesthesia. This is to prevent vomiting while the person is under so that they don't choke on the operating table.
However, from what I understand, guinea pigs can't throw up, so food in the stomach should stay out of the airway.
I don't know if there might be another reason why the vet would ask you to fast your pig, such as it affecting the dosage of anesthetic, since it would be given based on the weight of your animal. Maybe the few grams of added weight from food could affect the dosage? It seems unlikely, but I'm not sure.

Do you trust your vet? What's your gut feeling about them?

Soecara
07-23-15, 02:29 am
No guinea pigs absolutely should not be fasted overnight before a surgery. Was it the desk staff or the vet them self who recommended this? If it was the vet them self I don't think I would trust them to perform any surgery on my guinea pig, however often desk staff are misinformed and will hand out the same information they would for cats and dogs not realising the error in this. If you aren't sure I would call them and ask to speak to the vet.